You are currently viewing AFLEX, ACSO, and ECSOC Unite for Action-Driven Collaboration

AFLEX, ACSO, and ECSOC Unite for Action-Driven Collaboration

SULULTA, March 12, 2024: AFLEX (African Leadership Excellence Academy), ACSO (Authority for Civil Society Organization), and ECSOC (Ethiopian Civil Society Organization Council) have officially signed a memorandum of action (MoA) to establish a collaborative partnership.

The agreement was signed by Zadig Abraha, Chief of AFLEX; Ato Fassikaw Molla, Deputy Director General of ACSO; and Hana Woldegebrial, Acting Executive Director of ECSOC, at the AFLEX leadership development center in Sululuta City.

Zadig Abreha highlighted that the purpose of signing the MoA is to foster a partnership between AFLEX, ACSO, and ECSOC.

He expressed his anticipation for the collaborations to come to realization, emphasizing that the MoA should be seen as a memorandum of action, reflecting the need for tangible results and the transformation of plans into reality.

Additionally, the Chief of AFLEX delivered a presentation on AFLEX’s reform, scale-up, and transformation.

Addressing the participants at the conference, Vice President of ECSOC, Ahmed Hussein, underscored that the core elements of the tripartite agreement—leadership development, research and knowledge development, coordination, and the CSOs Award scheme—are the pillars on which a stronger, more resilient civil society shall be built.

Deputy Director General of ACSO, Fassikaw Molla, said: “With a clear alignment of the vision of building a strong and vibrant Ethiopian CSOs sector that has greater influence in Ethiopia, Africa, and beyond, and Aflex’s grand initiatives, we have to work hand in hand for its realization.”

Furthermore, Dr. Gezahegn Kebede, Chairperson of the Authority of Civil Society Organization Committee, presented on possible areas of collaboration during the meeting.

Questions and comments were raised, and Zadig Abreha provided answers and clarification.

In his concluding remarks, the Chief of AFLEX proposed the establishment of a steering committee comprising representatives from each organization.

He instructed them to prepare proposals within three weeks.

The signing ceremony witnessed the participation of 400 attendees, demonstrating the broad interest in and support for this collaboration.